Consolidating Information

I have been working on consolidating information regarding the process of Transition.

“The term “transition services” means a coordinated set of activities for a child with a disability that:
Is designed to be within a results-oriented process, that is focused on improving the academic and functional achievement of the child with a disability to facilitate the child’s movement from school to post-school activities, including postsecondary education, vocational education, integrated employment (including supported employment); continuing and adult education, adult services, independent living, or community participation;
Is based on the individual child’s needs, taking into account the child’s strengths, preferences, and interests; and
Includes instruction, related services, community experiences, the development of employment and other post-school adult living objectives, and, if appropriate, acquisition of daily living skills and functional vocational evaluation.”

The area of Transition has become my niche, my speciality area of expertise. I love learning about this process. It seems that personally,  I am always in some state of transition and always learn more about myself every time I assist a family to prepare for their child’s post-school adult life.

At the beginning of this school year  I got tired of searching, trying to find document, web links and resources when people asked me for them, or having them get lost in the digital no mans land. I will be using three places to post these goodies as I find them. This is going to be a work in progress and I hope it will benefit others.

Source One:  My KWHS teacher web page

Source Two: The TIES Facebook Page

Source Three: The Transition Resources Page on this blog

Keep checking on these three links—-this will be a work in Progress.

Please let me know what resources you use as a teacher, family member or a person with disabilities—I love learning new things!

Leave a Reply

